General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

I need help with my vats bypass resistor

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2018, 06:29 AM

I need help with my vats bypass resistor

So I'm new to all this and not really mechanically savy. My 93 z28 ignition is crap. The wires for the connections that the key go to are completely chopped back behind the key insert spot so I can't sauder them and my car won't start. I've done the research all the way down to bypassing the vats via resistor. The problem I have is that my key reads 1.33. I don't see that being in any of the 15 resistor high and low. Is my meter jacked up or is there another way besides going through all 15 to find my resistor range?
Old 01-14-2018, 02:47 PM
Administrator

Re: I need help with my vats bypass resistor

Did you burnish the contacts on the key to insure there is no corrosion or dirt screwing up the reading?
Old 01-14-2018, 09:15 PM
Prominent Member

Location: Born on the Florida West Coast, now where can I retire?

What are you using to measure the resistance? If it is a meter from Harbor Freight, those can be very inaccurate due to the probe design materials. It would not be unlikely to be off by the probable 170 Ohms difference you are seeing. What resistance does the meter read when you touch the two probes together?
Many of the very basic kits for this include all 15 resistors in one pack.

Last edited by GaryDoug; 01-14-2018 at 09:18 PM.
Old 01-15-2018, 05:21 PM