Forced Induction Supercharger/Turbocharger

with turbo....

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2005, 07:06 PM

with turbo....

im a newb to FI somewhat, unsure of the fuel diff. in the turbo vs supercharger but im told its a pretty big difference, ive noticed alot of people get fuel management systems , why woudlnt just a bigger fuel pump work? and could u not have an ok cam, something very very streetable, and only run 6-8 #'s then flip it up when i want to get on it and have around 13-16 if you get all the right internals?...im asking bc ive just been looking to sell my car and buy an already boosted car but lately ive seen if its done right its either not for sale , or really expensive, and i figured' id just do mine how i wanted it, and if im going to BUILD my car for boost i'd rather be turbo than supercharged bc of the performance advantage, would 8.5:1 be too low? just wondering where i'd be safe at runing on 93 octane for the MAX to be around 15 #'s , i figure im gonna buy a bare block off ebay or locally and start from there, slowly...take my time so i dont see my bank account fall off completely lol, a part every 2 weeks will be fine --a slow build but it'l get done--crank one week pistons 2 weeks later and if i do get a block off ebay what all will i need to have done to make sure its in tip top condition, hot tanked etc?

---and ive seen where alot of people ask similar questions on here, and the responses are "its all about what you want" well, i want a engine thats reliable and isnt going to take a crap on me, and i want some pretty good power 450-520 would be more than enough, and ive see nwhere youve suggested going good heads/cam but can you really be streetable, not every day car but ...i do drive it regularly when i dont work, maybe 2-4 days out of 7 i would drive it

Last edited by glennxx1; 07-12-2005 at 07:09 PM.
Old 07-12-2005, 11:31 PM

Re: with turbo....