Forced Induction Supercharger/Turbocharger

Ignition question I've been wanting to ask

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2018, 11:41 AM

Ignition question I've been wanting to ask

A few years ago, I converted to the coil-on-plug LTCC system, mainly to get the high voltage out of the opti and improve reliability. I’m at about 10 lbs of boost at 6000 rpm and at a plug gap of .034, it won’t even make it to 5000 rpm before blowing the spark out (fourth gear run). I gapped them down to .025 and the other night, it still hiccupped around 6000 rpm. I’m not an electrician or engineer, but I would think that having individual coils would allow one to run a wider plug gap as opposed to a single coil and a distributor. Does having individual coils not allow you to get more voltage to the plugs? I wouldn’t go back to the old set up (especially considering the unreliability of our LT1 opti), but I notice that on race applications, they usually use a single coil and distributor. So what’s up with that? Just curious. I guess I’ll gap them down to .022 and see if that helps, but that’s getting pretty small.
Old 11-20-2018, 11:42 AM

Re: Ignition question I've been wanting to ask

Just a follow up in the interest of providing information. Recently my car got to where it was cutting out under any load so I changed plug wires. Solved that problem immediately. Just wondering now if back then I had a plug wire or two slowly going bad on me and just not showing a problem until it was under heavy load.
Old 11-20-2018, 03:09 PM
Administrator

What plug wires were you using when the problem occurred? What wires did you replace them with?

You need upgraded wires with that much boost, and with an ignition system capable of supplying the higher voltage required to fire the plugs. Weak, aged insulation allows cross-firing between adjacent wires, and can eventually burn through the conductor.
Old 11-21-2018, 06:21 PM