Advanced Tech Advanced tech discussion. Major rebuilds, engine theory, etc.
HIGH-END DISCUSSION ONLY - NOT FOR GENERAL TECH INFO

Custom Fabricated Intake Manifold Questions???

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2007, 03:09 AM

Custom Fabricated Intake Manifold Questions???

I've been doing a lot of research on fabricated intake manifolds for a LSX and i thinks its time to weld one up. I am an experienced welder and fabricator so it im looking forward to this challenge. I have a few question though. What type of material should i use, aluminum, stainless, or mild steel? I want the manifold to handle hardcore abuse. Ive seen tons made with aluminum so thats what im leaning towards. Also, how thick of material should i use? Like i said i want to make it bomb proof. What do yall think?
Old 10-25-2007, 08:37 PM

Since there have been no replys yet I will jump in. If I was building an intake manifold I would go with aluminum. Far easier to work with. Plus you will need to get the proper cross sectional area, taper and length of the runners for the motor you are building.
Old 10-25-2007, 08:55 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by texas94z
I've been doing a lot of research on fabricated intake manifolds for a LSX and i thinks its time to weld one up. I am an experienced welder and fabricator so it im looking forward to this challenge. I have a few question though. What type of material should i use, aluminum, stainless, or mild steel? I want the manifold to handle hardcore abuse. Ive seen tons made with aluminum so thats what im leaning towards. Also, how thick of material should i use? Like i said i want to make it bomb proof. What do yall think?
There is alot more to "welding up" a sheetmetal intake. Length and taper of runner and plenum volume per application are important.

If the engine is built and tuned correctly the intake should not have to withstand "hardcore abuse". A nitrous backfire should be all the "abuse" it should ever see.