LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

New Z28 owner..have few questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2003, 03:43 AM

New Z28 owner..have few questions

Hi everyone, i've been looking through the forums for a couple weeks now researching but this is my first post..i just picked my Z28 yesterday. I've been driving around mustangs for the last 4 yrs (98 GT and 97 Cobra Vert) so this is like the other side of the world for me but i think its going to be a fun change, very different car and more moddified already then my mustangs were. I just was wondering if you guys could help me out and answer a couple questions for me, i'd appreciate any help.

1. what is the deal with this skip-shift thing? its driving me nuts already and it's only been 2 days. How do i eliminate it and is it easy to do?

2. i really don't car much for the stock shifter and was wondering what the good and bads are of the short-throws available, which one do most people tend to go with?

3. might sound nuts but i was wondering if it was actually possible to decrease the boost on the powerdyne supercharger on the car from 6 to 4 1/2. I am just concerned about putting alot of strain on the LT1 over time even though i will most likely baby this car.

4. i was really suprised as to how tame the exhaust sounds. Considering its supercharged and has all exhuast mods it seems barely lounder then a stock lt1. Don't get me wrong, it's got a mean growl to it and sounds great just really really quiet. what could be the reasoning for it, is it possibly just that the cat is that restrictive even though its a hi-flow cat or maybe im just used to off-road set-up on my cobra.

5. i'll probably be going to the track once or twice this summer and was wondering what kind of 1/4 mile times i should expect with the set-up i have.

Thank you in advance for any help
Old 06-08-2003, 05:55 AM

Congrats on your new purchase and welcome to the DARK SIDE