LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

LT1 reliability

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 11:17 PM

LT1 reliability

Hello all..new to this forum..just purchased a 1994 z28 Lt1..stock motor, rebuilt tranny..6 speed..110,000 original miles on it. I am new to Camaro's and don't really know much about this kind of car..was wondering how reliable it is and how much mileage do yours have?

I know about the optispark issue..the one in mine has been replaced recently..so I should be ok..

what routine maintenance do you do on yours? mind you, i don't abuse it and don't plan to..i plan on keeping it for a while..as a DD (i drive 100 miles a day) so reliability is a must..thanks for all the heads-up..
Old 02-14-2013, 12:03 AM

Re: LT1 reliability

Maintain it like u would any other vehicle. There is nothing delicate about the lt1 cars. I dont suggest using water to clean tge engine...but even with a conventional distributor...u wouldnt want water in it.

Keep ur oil clean.... Top off all ur fluids and if it aint broke...leave it alone. Lol

Larry (Popo8) Co-owner
LTXtech.com
Old 02-14-2013, 07:13 AM

My 95z has 220k+ miles on it, and has been a reliable DD for the orignal owner since purchaced in 95, and myself for the past 2.5 years I've owned it. It still has the original opti, as well as all other engine parts, except for the water pump. It was serviced on a regular basis (fluids and filters).

Also, as with any car with an in-tank fuel pump, don't make a habit of running it low (1/4 tank minimum). This will prolong the life of the puimp by keeping it cool.

Have fun and enjoy it.
Old 02-14-2013, 12:31 PM

208K on mine. The previous owner did regular routine maintemance, and had everything done at the dealer. It still has over 40 lbs. of oil pressure when cold, and at idle it pulls down ~20 no problem. Its basically a small block chevy, so it should last a real long time!
Old 02-14-2013, 02:22 PM

Originally Posted by j_43