LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Looking for advice. LT1 build up

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2011, 07:24 PM

Looking for advice. LT1 build up

Been gathering parts, getting close to the tear down. I'm by no means a mechanic just a weekend garage guy. Looking for some advice on the direction I'm going. Stuff I should look at replacing/upgrading. I'm aiming over the 400HP mark. but would like to get the most out of what I have I guess.

Here's my list, any advice is greatly appreciated.

-'96 LT1 running OBD1 ..in and running but will freshen it up before doing any of this.
-1.6:1 crane roller rockers .. also been installed for a few years now. guessing there are 25-30K miles on them.
-Hedman shorty hedders.. 1-5/8" d-port's. -prob look at replacing these with something coated.
-2.75" cat back, stock (modified for hedders) Y pipe.. Flowmaster 40series (look to replace this as well)
-T-56 w/ stock clutch
-New 3.73 to replace noisy old one .. kit, ring pinion, seals bearings etc to freshen up stock rear
-NIB Non-Adj rear lower control arms, non-adj panhard bar, wonderbar..
-Mega Squirt to run all this stuff. going to do an Opti delete using Ford EDIS
-NIB TrickFlow GenX 185 Heads -assembled version
-NIB ARP Headbolts
-Gently used 58mm BBK TB

Thinking of LT4 Hotcam.. not looking for anything huge though.
Thinking of new pushrods.. not sure about lifters?
Prolly getting a nice diff cover since I can't build a motor and dish out for a 9"/12bolt.. not a track car.
Thinking single 3" exhaust. Can't have it hanging any lower than it is as our roads aren't the greatest around here
Old 03-20-2011, 07:29 PM

Re: Looking for advice. LT1 build up

http://elliottsportworks.com/ talk with this man
Old 03-20-2011, 10:21 PM
Administrator

400+HP at the flywheel, or at the rear wheels?
Old 03-20-2011, 11:05 PM

if this is what you have..run it!...

but toss lifters..just get you some new ones