General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Speed Density cars slower then MAF?

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2005, 10:01 PM

Speed Density cars slower then MAF?

People keep telling me that speed density 93's are slower then the MAF counterparts. I also hear that 93's were the slowest year. I dont really understand why as the motor itself was basically the same except the 93's got some better parts like hardned pushrods. Anyone?
Old 11-14-2005, 11:56 PM

Re: Speed Density cars slower then MAF?

I've heard the opposite. Of course, I'm no expert, but maybe someone can clarify, because I remember reading somewhere that it doesn't really matter @ WOT...
Old 11-15-2005, 12:17 AM

the MAF system is just a bit faster in response time. I don't think the speed density would affect overall horse power.
Old 11-15-2005, 02:07 AM

Most high-boost cars run speed density w/ an aftermarket ECM, are they not? I seem to remember this, because I was gonna upgrade to OBD-I, but after reading that I'd end up switching back to speed density anyways, I decided to keep what I had...
Old 11-15-2005, 05:25 AM
Administrator

The only difference between speed-density and MAF is the way the PCM gets the mass air flow data. The MAF sensor measures the mass air flow rate directly, and sends it to the PCM. In speed density, the ECM/PCM needs to calculate the mass air flow rate by multiplying displacment/2 x rpm x volumetric efficiency (from a table) to get volumetric flow rate, and then figuring the density of the incoming air from MAP and IAT to get the mass flow rate.

As long as the VE tables are correct, they both end up with the same number for mass air flow. From that point on, both systems work exactly the same. There's no reason that, properly tuned, there should be any difference at all in the end results.