Exhaust System From headers to exhaust tips

header installation

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2008, 04:24 PM

header installation

i'm new to the posting here but i've been reading a lot. i know you guys keep saying that installing headers is going to be a PITA but it has to be done, right? haha. i was just wondering if there were any tips you could give me to make it a little easier...and believe me the beer will help! haha. i got the pacesetter headers with emissions and the ORY. my car is in my sig! thanks guys!
Old 01-16-2008, 04:44 PM

it's not that big of a PITA and this is coming from a girl so.... but then again u have a 97 so nevermind lol

the biggest things I found was getting the car high enough. get it HIGH unless you have access to a lift, in that case ur lucky.

spray PB blaster on the old bolts the night before and let them soak.

the next hardest thing if not the most hardest is getting in the header bolts, it helps if there is someone under the car holding the header while you put the bolts in. go from the inside out and just get the threads started, don't tighten them down until all of them are in. and don't force them. hope this helps

oh and change ur spark plugs and do poly or solid motor mounts while ur at it
Old 01-16-2008, 07:14 PM

go here, they have lots of how tos and header install info. Ive been looking for info myself and found it. http://www.bfranker.badz28.com/fbody/guides.htm
Old 01-17-2008, 10:23 PM

Replace your motor mounts while your in there... If your not mechanicly inclinded... Pay someone to do it, Take your time, be careful, if you break a bolt off in the head, you probally wont get it out without pulling the head

Good Luck
Old 01-18-2008, 10:06 AM