Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

a few ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2003, 11:45 PM
94-Z-28M6

a few ?

Hey, I am new to the whole programming thing and I just have a few ?. All Data is at WOT.

1) What exactly is burst knock?
2) Are the O2 sensors still reading and displaying info at WOT? I
have logged a couple of runs and the Mv readings are all over
the place, and differ from side to side at the same time from
89 on the left and 662 on the right!
3) I am also having spark retard problems at every shift point, It
starts right at the first shift but then I start having it retard up
10* in the middle of all of the remaining gears! It is a stock
program and I am at a high elevation so something seems
to be wierd to me.
4) I am in Denver and am only seeing 78kpa Max and 180gm/sec
Max on the MAP and MAF. Does this seem normal or not??

I apologize if all this has been gone over before but I appreciate any help. I have the Data log files and if that would help just let me know and I will send them, The car has always felt slower than the other cars I have driven and ridden in...Hopefully if I can fix these problems it will be better

Thanks again,
-Nick

Old 01-05-2003, 12:22 AM

What logging software are you using?

Burstknock is from the MAF seeing a sudden increase in airflow.

It is normal for the O2 reading to be changing from high to low numbers at cruise, at wot they stay steady, mine stay around .850+

You might try a LT4 knock module, all m6 cars I've datalogged show retartd at high rpm shifts (clutch noise??) my a4 car shows 2-3 degrees at 6300 shift point

I'm sure altitude affects map reading and I would think it would effect the maf. Your maf does seem low, I'm 250+gps@5800
My maf reading vary log to log, so I'm thinks changes in density altitude effect it.

You can email me your datalogs if you want. I've tuned a few cars, but I'm still learing too.
Old 01-05-2003, 12:48 PM