Classic Engine Tech 1967 - 1981 Engine Related

Thoughts on car and a few General Q's

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2004, 10:30 AM

Thoughts on car and a few General Q's

Well i posted a couple of times in december regarding buying a first gen for a daily driver. I want to thank all those who responded and offerred info before, especially jg95z28 and StorminNorm among others.

I've found a car close to me that is about what i'm looking for.
It has my preferred color combo (orange/white - i'm a clemson grad) Its a clone(cheap, less worries), 4spd, built engine, etc. Most of what i want, with the exception of not having power disc brakes and A/C, but i guess you can't ask for everything. Here is the ebay link (below). The guy said he'd take 12,7- for the car which is the starting ebay price. He said there's no rust on the car, no dents, dings or scratches. Said the paint was in very good condition. He said all gauges work and that the interior is also in good shape, but i'm not too crazy about the custom interior. I'm going to be taking a look at it and test driving it this weekend.

Anyway, here's the link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...&category=6161

Any comments or opinions or whatever are greatly appreciated. I'm still trying to get a feel for what these cars are worth. Is 12,7-- reasonable? Should I offer less and see what he says?

A couple of questions:

1) For those that didn't read the link, its a 400 small block bored over to 406, 202 Dart heads, Sharpie roller rockers with polly locks, Lunati true roller cam shaft, Victor Junior intake. He didn't give me the specs on the cam, and i'm assuming its still got the stock exhaust manifolds, but he did say it had flowmasters so maybe he's got headers too. In any case, what kind of HP would a motor like this be making? Or give me a range going from stock or close to stock/tame cam and stock exhaust manfolds up to a fairly aggressive cam and a nice set of long tubes.