Automotive News / Industry / Future Vehicle Discussion Automotive news and discussion about upcoming vehicles

How is the sales of the PPV?

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2011, 01:56 PM

Question How is the sales of the PPV?

Just wondering. Been seeing a lot of Chargers out there as the car of choice now. Since the CV is gone.

The Caprice? Is it selling how bout the PPV Taurus? Just curious to see what the info on these are. Looks like Dodge has the market on these cars now.
Old 12-13-2011, 02:04 PM

Re: How is the sales of the PPV?

Taurus police interceptor isn't out yet. I have not seen any Caprices or new 2012 Chargers yet. I know my town didn't buy any new cars this year (last year they got 2 Impalas and a Tahoe) and the New York State Police have a surplus of new Tahoes to put into service before they buy anything new. The city of Albany uses Chargers. I've been keeping my eyes open for 2012's but have not seen any yet.
Old 12-13-2011, 04:08 PM

FWIU, there were a limited number of 2011 MY Caprices made. I got to test drive one at work. The fleet mgr. will be ordering more soon.
Old 12-14-2011, 04:39 AM

CHP has gone to Chargers and so has Arizona.

There's not too many agencies buying new patrol cars now due to budget cuts.

Just my 2 cents: Police agencies look ay maintence as well as repair costs. There's also prefab accesories that only are available on vehicles and platforms that have been around awhile.

Caprices aren't going to have the network that the Charger has, and parts are likely to cost a little more as well. Even if it isn't much, cash strapped agencies are likely to consider this before buying the few patrol cars they're going to purchase.
Old 12-14-2011, 08:59 AM