V6 Tech 1967-2002 V6 Engine Related

Smoking/Oil Leak Problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2005, 08:12 PM

Smoking/Oil Leak Problems

Hey everyone, I have a 94 3.4 V6 and one day it began to smoke lightly from the engine. When I took it to a mechanic, he identified that it was oil leaking onto a hot pipe and causing it to smoke. He said he fixed it, but it came back. Now I don't mind so much having to buy more motor oil every month due to the leak. But when the car smokes whenever I park after a long/hard ride and it comes through my air conditioning, it becomes quite an annoyance.

An automotive savvy neighbor of mine told me to get some engine degreaser and spray it around the engine, particularly the area of the leak which he identified, but he also said to mind the distributor cap (if i have one) when rinsing it off, because it would mess with the electrical current. He also suggested getting a "Haynes" guide to better know my car. Now I'm just getting into cars and don't know much, so I'm not quite sure what he was saying, or what the engine degreaser would even do for that matter....I only learned how to check my oil 3 months ago. Any feedback? FYI, the only modifications I've made are a K&N cold air filter, but that shouldn't make a difference.
Old 04-05-2005, 09:12 PM

Re: Smoking/Oil Leak Problems