Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Looking for traction...

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 09:13 AM

Looking for traction...

I'm new to all these suspension parts right now and I recently was convinced to work my way from the suspension up, instead of powering up the engine and then moving on to suspension. So now I'm basically looking for all new parts and I don't really know much about it. I've already decided on a new 12 bolt rear with 3.73's from Strange. I'm looking for some other parts now that will work well with that setup. My main concern is just straight-line traction, but I'd like to keep a nice, reliable street machine as well. Something that will handle corners but keep me stuck to the road at WOT as well. Just looking for some direction as to what parts to look for and things like that.
Thanks for the help.
Old 03-01-2007, 09:47 AM

rear end and sticky icky tires are a start
then maybe a lca reloc. brackets
bilstein hd shocks or the koni's if you wanna dish out the money for them
then maybe an adj torque arm
then a panhard rod bar
then lca's (i hear there's aren't realy streetable, b/c they bind and are noisy..)

That the order I would go in....
Old 03-01-2007, 12:32 PM

All the suspension mods in the world won't do you a bit of good if you don't have a good pair of tires out back to grip the pavement. After that, I would look into LCAs and LCA relocation brackets for starters.
Old 03-01-2007, 01:02 PM
Administrator

Originally Posted by danhr
then lca's (i hear there's aren't realy streetable, b/c they bind and are noisy..)....
Why aren't they "streetable"? Poly bushings on both ends can cause suspension bnid as the body starts to roll, but using a combo of rubber/poly, poly/spherical or spherical/spherical, or the new spherical poly bushings highlighted in another post on this forum (do a "Search") will eliminate the suspension bind.
Old 03-01-2007, 01:54 PM