Suspension, Chassis, and Brakes Shocks, springs, cages, brakes, sub-frame connectors, etc.

Big issue with Eibach Pro Kit and UMI upper and lower A-arms

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2014, 01:42 PM

Big issue with Eibach Pro Kit and UMI upper and lower A-arms

Hello,

my problem is a little bit hard to explain. I am an german Camaro Z28 driver and I didnt have a shop around here that can give me quick help. The Camaro is here in Germany a car that is not often driving around, so the knowledge is very low.

After an accident, I rebuild my Camaro at the front end and use the
"Eibach Pro-Kit Lowering Springs 3870-140, UPC: 803050127594"
and the
"UMI Performance Front Upper and Lower A-Arm Kit UPI-230511-B"

Here comes the big problem:

At the drivers side (left) after installing all is fine but at the passengers side (right) the springs have contact with the upper A-Arm and its mounting screw. The original upper sping-stop at the passengers side side is mirrored, so that viewed and compared right and left side, the spring rotation starts ever left side at the spring stop.

After getting this situation, we rebuild the original upper A-Arm back to car and got nearly the same result. The upper spring do have contact with the mounting bolt of the upper A-arm but not with the arm (the stock one gives 5mm more space). So my question is here first: Eibach never sell springs that hit cars screws... Something must be wrong here.

I need urgently help here. The best solution was an upper spring stop (I dont know the right english word for this part) with the spring stop at 180 degree rotated other side.

Please take a look at the pictures:

Here you see what I mean with "upper spring stop". The left and the right side have its own part and EVER the spring rotation starts left sided when you look at the part. The resulting problem is the spring contact to the upper A-Arm and its mounting bolt at the passengers side (right).