Mountain Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming

quick california emissions question...

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 12:19 AM

quick california emissions question...

I'm in the military. I currently live in Florida, where "anything goes" with respect to exhaust mods. I'm gonna have to move to California in the next year. I plan on keeping my car registered and tagged in florida.

Am I going to be subject to the same **** modification laws as people with cars registered in cali? I plan on doing headers and moving my cats around. I'm keeping them though.

Could I get my car ticketed/impounded/crushed for having illegal exhaust even though I'm a florida resident with florida tags?
Old 04-16-2008, 02:44 AM

You should be fine since the car is not registered in Cali. I has friend years back though, who had moved here from Nevada and was flagged by DMV after he got a ticket on his Nevada reg'd car. Since his license was Ca, and showed his residence in Ca, he was issued a ticket by DMV for not registering his vehicle in the state.
Old 04-16-2008, 08:23 AM

No, you shouldn't... although since I'm imagining you'll be moving to MCAS Miramar, you should be aware that San Diego PD is very ****-ish when it comes to what they consider illegal mods (sometimes as silly as an intake for example). Although from what I hear they mainly attack rice boys and leave domestic owners alone.

Window tint and no front plate are things I've heard everyone needs to watch out for though... even though I cruised my Z28 through SD plenty of times in violation and never was pulled over for it.

Then again... you could be going to NAS Lemoore, and in which case, disregard all. Generally speaking, in California you will be fine since you're registered in Florida and are not a permanent resident. Most people that move here have 30 days to register their car in California... luckily that doesn't apply to military AFAIK.
Old 04-16-2008, 10:21 AM