Midwest Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin

more advise for winter driving, please

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2010, 08:17 PM

more advise for winter driving, please

hi, im a newbie, 50year old 'girl' w/ new 2010 v6 rs (& lovin it) BUT shes my daily driver. been reading threads about winter driving, but craving more advise. id like to hear from you folks who drove their camaro last winter on the mean streets of ohio. untill a month ago, i had a pristeen 1993 supercharged bonneville that drove in snow like a tank. my camaro has 20" wheels, 8" front...9" rear.. perilli tires. how are they gonna 'serve' me come winter??? thanks, looking forward to your replies. corinne
Old 06-02-2010, 08:43 AM

I see you only have two posts so welcome to the board.

Congrats on your new Camaro. I can't speak for driving in Ohio but MI driving is pretty close. Not much you can do to make that car drive well in the winter. You can add some weight over the rear tires, that will help a little. Go to Home Depot and get a couple 50lb bags of sand and put them on each side of the trunk.

Other than that not much you can do except hope for a light winter. Unless you want to go extreme & add shallow screws to your tires.

Good Luck!!!
Old 06-02-2010, 12:06 PM

I don't know about the new Camaros, but my 4th gen is not very good in the snow- 300 horse power and a light back end will do that- Doesn't help that I have summer tires on- but, then, it is a second car and I don't drive it in the winter if I can help it.

Studded snow tires would be the best bet- does your car have posi- option G80? That helps also in slippery conditions.
Old 06-02-2010, 04:16 PM

If you really want to have the best chance of getting by ok in the winter; get some wheels and snow tires in the stock 18" size.

usually the best place for a package like that is the tirerack. wont be cheap, but worth not having to pay the collision man when it gets put in the ditch.