LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

What were your symptoms when the power steering pump went out?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2003, 02:02 AM

What were your symptoms when the power steering pump went out?

I don't know if it is my psp or what. The car is not hard to turn. It only happens at low mphs(pulling in/out of parking places). When I turn the wheel the front, by the tires, it kind of makes a "studdering" vibration. It is not hard to steer, just makes that "noise". What could it be? PSP...tie rods??? Help!!!

JOHN
Old 06-19-2003, 06:28 PM

Anyone?? I need to get this diagnosed.
Old 06-19-2003, 09:43 PM

Did it just start happening all of a sudden, or has it just got progressively worse.

Does it do this in both steering directions?

What you are experiencing may be what is called "shudder", oddly enough. It's funny that you used that term for the noise. That is exactly what we called it at GM. (I was an engineer for GM, and I used to design and "quiet down" power steering systems).

Unfortunately, "shudder" can be caused by a number of things. A sticky valve in the pump. A worn power steering pressure hose(possibly). A worn rack and pinion gear valve land.

Anyways, please tell me as much as possible and I'll try to help as much as possible.

By the way, if it's "shudder", it's nothing to worry about for the safety or durabilityof the car, it's just annoying. It's basically a fluid resonance in the power steering system.

Oh yeah, it can also be a factor of which tire is used.

Dan
Old 06-20-2003, 12:13 AM