LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

What size cam can I run?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2017, 07:10 PM

What size cam can I run?

I'm new to building gas motors. But I was wondering what is the biggest cam I can run in my LT1 with stock lifters and springs?
Old 05-03-2017, 09:13 PM

Re: What size cam can I run?

Basically, just the stock cam. Any cam change is going to necessitate upgrades to springs (lifters might be ok, if they are low enough miles). If you want to increase performance with a cam, you can't scrimp on supporting valvetrain parts and expect it to live up to your expectations or even survive.
Old 05-03-2017, 09:20 PM

Okay I want a good lope with some good power for a cam. Is there any cam and springs for on the cheaper side you could recomend that would be good?
Old 05-04-2017, 05:53 AM

Valve springs are pretty inexpensive so that shouldn't hinder you at all. The issue beyond the cam is the supporting mods. For an engine to work properly you need to get air in and out as efficiently as possible. That isn't the stock induction and exhaust systems. If you just change the cam you'll likely be disappointed. You should consider a good cold air induction system and headers along with your cam to get the best performance for the money you spend.

If you have your mind made up on just doing a cam, try contacting Llyod Elliot at Elliot Port Works. He'll recommend a setup for you that might fit your needs. Here's a link: http://elliottsportworks.com/

Please note that you will need to have your computer reprogrammed if you change the cam...

Good luck!
Old 05-04-2017, 10:23 AM
Administrator

Originally Posted by LTcamaro1
Okay I want a good lope with some good power for a cam. Is there any cam and springs for on the cheaper side you could recomend that would be good?