LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Opinions on a install...... gone wrong???

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2004, 11:07 PM

Angry Opinions on a install...... gone wrong???

I am having a cam installed in my car right now.......I work a ton and dropped off the parts and car without even thinking about it as I have been sitting on the parts for seven months and forgot that I needed to order a few more lifters as I had 11 new ones............

Well the mechanic calls me and asks me what he was supposed to do with 11 lifters...........I was like OH S hit.....Anyways he used eleven new and reused some of the old lifters......

My questions are:

Am I going to blow one of these old 120k mile lifters now that I am running a more aggressive cam and springs???

What would you guys do????

Its been done now..but I am hella paranoid...........

Shawn
Old 03-16-2004, 11:15 PM

depends on the spring pressure on the new springs and the ramps on the cam. if it were me i would wait and buy new lifters.
Old 03-17-2004, 01:54 AM

yeah I would have waited too..but he already had my car apart and was already getting ready to put things together....I would have paid for a cam install either way and he is so booked in such a small space he couldnt have it sitting...... I totally would hav waited...

Im just wondering what people think the likelyhood of collapsing a 120k lifter is??

The cam is a 226/236 112lsa
.535/.565

Opinions???

Shawn
Old 03-17-2004, 11:39 AM

Nope

There is a possibility that you may get away with it. I wouldn't, as you are running higher spring pressures, higher revs. Just like the molly hatchet song goes, your flirting with disaster. Look at it from my point of view. If your lifters fail, you will wind up with:
1. Chewed up cam
2. Bent pushrods
3. Possibly damaged block
4. A butt-lode of metal thru your bearings=rebuild time.