LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

LT1 HP gains??

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 07:06 PM

Question LT1 HP gains??

Alright so I'm pretty new to LT1s and engine mods in general and I'm looking for a little guidance here. I've got a basically stock 1994 Z28 with a few mods like CAI, throttle body bypass and air foil, shift kit, and a few things like that. So far I've done oil, tranny fluid, gear oil, etc.. just routine maintanence to make sure she's running right. Basically I want to know where I should go next...

it's got the stock exhaust manifolds w/ a different exhaust, not sure if performance or not but the previous owner told me it wasnt stock. its got a very loud low rumble to it so i assume its better than stock

What I want...
-As much HP possible without sacrificing MPG's too much
-maybe around 350 HP?

Looking to spend up to $1000 so I'm kind of on a tight budget. What can I do to maximize my power with what Ive got?

Last edited by sabresfan; 06-20-2012 at 07:11 PM.
Old 06-20-2012, 07:43 PM

Re: LT1 HP gains??

I was thinking LT4 hot cam kit with a tune and a set of headers?
Old 06-20-2012, 08:13 PM

hey,

I just got done with an UnderDrive Pulley. i bought a March U/D... its about 34% smaller diameter than the stock. the way that belts routed, itll effect the alternator a little. with A/C full blast, music blaring, and my headlights and fogs on, the power does dip at idle, but it has given me a little better gas mpg, and she does feel smoother. im not complaining about any dipping needle, like some people no offense to them obviously. it was pretty cheap, just wait for one to show on this forum, or ls1.com or corvetteforum.com under the C4 P/S. or..you can buy it new..up to you. you will need three new grade 8 bolts, and a smaller belt. you can get the bolts in lowes, and the belt at advance auto. thats where i got mine, all in all, it was near $70.

for other mods try hitting WS6.COM --he da man