LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

knock retard hurting me???

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2004, 11:43 AM

knock retard hurting me???

was out at the track and buddy of mine hooked up scanner and was getting between 3 and 5 degrees of knock retard. how much is that hurting my performance. going to get an lt4 knock module in 2 days, just wondering how much that's been hurting.
Old 08-23-2004, 05:29 PM

Re: knock retard hurting me???

???
Old 08-23-2004, 07:05 PM

As far as e.t., 5° of retard would have a noticeable effect.
Old 08-23-2004, 07:06 PM

Every single LT1 that I have ever scanned has SOME knock retard in it. I have a constant 3-4 degrees in mine. My buddy had 7 when he had his car. I have an LT4 knock module and programming and I still haven't got rid of it. I just throw a gallon of race fuel in it to cure the knock retard.
Old 08-23-2004, 09:09 PM
Banned

Do a search on the board and get the resistor # and go to Radio Shack and get one to wire inline with your knock retard sender on the block.It is on the passenger's side in front of the starter.
False knock is a problem with header's or RR's.
Old 08-23-2004, 09:30 PM

3 degres of knock takes a little over 3.5 seconds to completly be put back in...provided that the engine doesnt pick up any more in the same time.

and by the way someone with tunercat can completely disable the knock. so it can be fix with tuncat, well not fix but by passed.
Old 08-23-2004, 09:57 PM

Originally Posted by 97Z-M6
3 degres of knock takes a little over 3.5 seconds to completly be put back in...provided that the engine doesnt pick up any more in the same time.

and by the way someone with tunercat can completely disable the knock. so it can be fix with tuncat, well not fix but by passed.