LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Hooker Areo chamber cat back questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2006, 10:11 AM

Hooker Areo chamber cat back questions

I have a 80 series Flowmaster on my car with Mac mids and no cats and I have ha dthis setup for a few years and it has been pretty loud but this spring I took my car out and man is it ever loud!

maybe its me not being used to it after the winter but I think I wanna buy a new cat back and was wondering if the Hooker was maybe a little quieter than the 80 series flowmaster?

thanks!
Old 04-11-2006, 10:35 AM

Re: Hooker Areo chamber cat back questions

I'd just spend the money and get a nice, quiet catback thats stainless steel. If you want a quiet system look to the SLP dual dual, its stainless and reasonably priced.
Old 04-11-2006, 10:39 AM

I dont really want something that is tooquiet I love the sound its just that it has gotten REALLY loud, much louder than last season I am sure now . I want something that doesnt get louder over time just sounds the same as when first in stalled i guess lol, does it exist?
Old 04-11-2006, 10:52 AM

I had a Flowmaster 3" catback with headers and a 40 series, and I hated it. I bought a 3" single in/out Aerochamber and replaced the Flowmaster. I absolutely love it! It sounds about as close to an offshore boat as you can get, and it's perfectly acceptable at cruise.
Old 04-11-2006, 10:59 AM

Just replace the muffler. No need for a whole new catback. New muffler and the tips of your choice.
Old 04-11-2006, 03:48 PM

Too bad you don’t live closer to me. I have the setup you are asking about. I have MAC mids, hooker catback, and a bullet muffler in place of the cat. It sounds awesome, but it’s not quiet at anything over ½ throttle. It idles quiet, and cruises very quiet though. It’s one sweet sounding setup.