LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Holley Throttle Body Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 05:21 PM

Holley Throttle Body Trouble

i just joined this message board today because i have a problem that is driving me crazy. i have a 95 z28 with all the standard bolt ons, nothing crazy. i got a 58 mm holley throttle body a few months ago and heres the problem. this is the third throttle body from summit because i thought i might be a defect but is obvisiouly not. with the car off, the linkage moves open and closed prefectly smooth. when the car is running, it sticks all the time. i have a scanmaster, and when i let off the gas, the throttle position percent (tpp) won't come back down to zero. it sticks at anywhere from 1 to 9 percent which makes it a real pain to drive. i set the tps to .48 volts and tried it everywhere else and still have the same problem. this thing is installed perfect - torqued and port matched. the coolant is bypassed, and can't be that because as soon as the car shuts off, the linkage moves perfect again even when hot. it has a new iac also. i moved the stop screw all the way in and out and adjusted the tps back to .48 volts each time and i always get the same problem. when i get under the hood with the car running, it is tough for the linkage to come off of the fully closed position and wont return to fully closed unless i give a nudge back to closed. one thing that i noticed though is that i know that the iac should be between 20 and 40 at idle. if i put the stock throttle body back on, everything is perfect. but the holley, the iac will drop to zero, and i figure that is because i am so far out on the stop screw to get past the "sticky area." this sticky area is only between 0 and about 9 percent when the car is running. please - does anybody have any ideas what the heck could be causing this??? vaccuum problem maybe?? all readings are perfect and no signs of a leak when stock unit is put back on. the egr is not s