LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Help !!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2017, 04:36 AM

Help !!!!!!

I am 17 I am a Jr mechanic I've been working on cars sense I was able to turn a wrench but I'm having a problem with my 1994 trans am that I just can't figure out
Here's my problem i will be driving my trans am and all of a sudden back firing and no power sometimes no power steering aswell ( bc car shut off ) this happenedsite normally near empty ( on gas) and the first time this happened I thought it was because I put engine cleaner in the gas tank and I didn't have enough gas but it happened again and I am still dumbfounded about why the second time the car was harder to start than before both times happened at around 50 to 55 mph and once it happens I can't do 45mph without it back firing and dieing on me

Last edited by Jkkiller; 01-02-2017 at 04:41 AM.
Old 01-02-2017, 08:01 AM

Re: Help !!!!!!

You want to check your fuel pump pressure. Also you say it's happening when your fuel level is low but not out fuel you may have a fuel pickup problem in the tank.
Old 01-02-2017, 10:42 AM
Administrator

The fuel gauge calibration is terrible in these cars. When the gauge indicates "1/4" you may have as little as one gallon. Run the tank dry and it can damage the pump.

Info from Shoebox:

4th Gen LT1 F-body Tech Articles

The "F-Body Lounge" isn't the best place for tech help. I'll move this to a more active forum.
Old 01-02-2017, 11:08 AM

What do u mean by fuel pick up problem ....like the fuEl pump has gone our or going out....... but would no fuel cause the backfire
Old 01-02-2017, 11:12 AM

It will back fire if it loses fuel and then gets fuel.its a classic running out of fuel scenario in these cars. Fill the tank and let us know if the problem recurs....
Old 01-02-2017, 11:14 AM

Also if it is the fuel gage calibration Is of how would I go about recalibrating it
Old 01-02-2017, 11:19 AM