LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Can someone explain head/valvetrain specs to me???

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2003, 12:29 AM

Can someone explain head/valvetrain specs to me???

I have been doing a lot of researching for my next engine build, and I have a rough list made. I am still learning, and some of the basic stuff confuses me.

With heads, if I get AFR 190's, what does the 190cc mean. And what about the intake and exhaust ports and the combustion chamber cc. I would really like to know what these specs mean, and what numbers of each are better. If I got the heads ported more, which seems to be a good idea, would all of these numbers increase?

Also, with cams, I understand lift and everything, but can you explain what the numbers mean. Like the LSA; is a higher lsa better for a nitrous/forced induction application. Thanks guys.
Old 08-29-2003, 02:44 AM
On permanent vacation

Re: Can someone explain head/valvetrain specs to me???

Originally posted by notstock4long
I have been doing a lot of researching for my next engine build, and I have a rough list made. I am still learning, and some of the basic stuff confuses me.

With heads, if I get AFR 190's, what does the 190cc mean. And what about the intake and exhaust ports and the combustion chamber cc. I would really like to know what these specs mean, and what numbers of each are better. If I got the heads ported more, which seems to be a good idea, would all of these numbers increase?

Also, with cams, I understand lift and everything, but can you explain what the numbers mean. Like the LSA; is a higher lsa better for a nitrous/forced induction application. Thanks guys.
I'm a bit tipsy so someoen can correct me if i'm off base

::slams bud light down:::

190 is reffering to the runner size in cc's.

combustion chamber size-