LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Building my Lt1 powered Benz ???'s

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2004, 01:57 PM

Question Building my Lt1 powered Benz ???'s

I am new to this form and first of all i know i don't have a camaro but it do have a lt1, and i had some questions.

The car is a 1979 mercedes 250, i have been doing serious body work, custom front and rear end, suspension and recently i purchased a 95 impalla ss lt1 w/ 50k on it and a 4l60e w/every component to both the engine and tranny.

I know it has iron heads, but i will be changing the heads in the future anyway along w/ many other parts, so i was wondering if it is going to be any less of a motor to mod the the z28 version of the lt1????

I also have a powerdyne supercharger, i no not every loves them but i ran it for thousands of miles on my 97 bmw with 11+ psi and it performed flawlessly, and i was wondering what i need to do to run boost, i was looking into lt1 edit, and wondering how much boost if any i should run w/ the stock compression???

And finally i read that the computer needs to get a electronic mph/speed signal, where does that come from???

Thanks very much for any help!
Maurice
Old 06-02-2004, 03:33 PM

The Impy LT1 is the same as the F-body LT1 except for the iron heads. As for boost on a stock LT1 shortblock, its not going to happen with anything more than 4.5psi of boost for a long time if you're lucky. LT1 compression is 10.4:1 and that is not boost friendly. Shoot for 9.0:1 or so with a rebuild and it should last a long, long time with a decent amount of boost.

For tuning, LT1 edit will get you by, but since the LT1's 2 bar MAP doesnt read boost, its not the best route but still would be good enough...for a blown setup anyway.

The way the computer gets the speed signal is from the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor) on the tranny tailshaft.
Old 06-02-2004, 06:53 PM