LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

93 z28 overheating, no leaks!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 06:58 PM

Question 93 z28 overheating, no leaks!!!

I am a fairly experienced mechanic, but I just need another opinion, not having a whole lot of lt1 experience.
Here's what I've got...
93 z28 with lt1. Stock except for msd optispark. Can start the car and let it idle forever without it overheating, but drive around town and the temp goes a little above normal (gets to about 220) but get on the interstate, and it is borderline overheating (was 241 at highest point before got off the interstate) and when i stop, coolant boils from overflow cap

Here are the things I have checked so far...
radiator flows without issue, new thermostat, water pump is circulating coolant, the air dam is intact, no bugs in ac condenser (which is in front of radiator) both cooling fans functioning properly, the heat works, car runs great and has plenty of power, bled the coolant system for good measure...

Now heres the kicker! Hooked my scanner up to it to see whats going on internally, and temp sensors are both accurate, but the oil temperature sensor reads -40F (But unless im wrong, that should not cause the engine to overheat). The fuel trim is much more lean on the driver side than the passenger side, even though the oxygen sensor readings are very close to one another.

I was thinking catalytic converter or head gasket, but because of the fact of having plenty of power and leaner fuel trim on one side, im leaning more towards head gasket... Any insight is very much appreciated
Old 05-28-2011, 10:26 PM
Administrator

Re: 93 z28 overheating, no leaks!!!

Your Z28 LT1 doesn't have an oil temperature sensor. When there is no sensor, the scanner indicates -40*F. Only the Corvette LT1 has the oil temp sensor installed.

Did you check the radiator cap to insure it is in fact holding 18psi?

Is the radiator always full when you open the cap?