LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Posi-Traction Rear?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2002, 08:00 PM

Post Posi-Traction Rear?

I'm new to these Camaros =) I have a 2002 Camaro SS. Is the rear end posi-trac? Or what? I'm not even 100% familiar what that means, but someone asked me today - claimed he had a 98 Z28 that was, and I didnt know...

------------------

-2002 Red Camaro SS
Chesapeake, Virginia
http://www.HeadRushPerformance.Com
Old 07-25-2002, 08:18 PM

Smile

Posi traction or LSD as you'll sometimes hear it called is basically the same thing.There is a minor difference but for now it works like this:
-When you step on the gas both rear wheels turn.Where as with an open rear end only one tire turns.
Hope that helped.There is an entire technical speil that I'm not 100% sure about but that's the basic concept.Good luck.
Kevin

------------------
1998 Black Z28 A4
-------1/8-------
8.584 @ 83.64 MPH
Taylor 10.4mm wires,!EGR,!FRA,SLP Lid,MAF Ends,IAT Tricker,TB Bypass,Manual Fan Switch,and Dynomax Cat-back

BMR STB and Sub-frame Connectors

Pics
Old 07-25-2002, 10:36 PM

Smile

Posi-traction / Posi-trac / "Posi" / LSD - Limited Slip Differential / whatever you want to call it --- here's what happens:

inside the differential, the posi unit uses a set of springs and a clutch pack to stop the spider gears from turning, which in essence "locks" the rear axles, so that when the drive shaft turns the main ring gear, both axles will turn together as if they're one. If the rear end were an open type, both wheels will still turn, but if one tire was on pavement, and the other was on ice (for example), then the tire on ice would spin free, since there is no friction on that side, but the tire on the pavement would not move, therefore, the car would go nowhere. If a car with posi was put in the same situation, both wheels would want to turn, so even though one is on ice, the one on the pavement would still turn, and your car would move.