LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Oil Pressure Switch

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2009, 12:58 PM

Oil Pressure Switch

Sorry to post about the same issue but I have to do the elimination process lol. Anyone got a pictureto show me where the Oil Pressure Switch is located on a 1998 Camaro 5.7L V8?? All help would be appreciated. Also is it hard to replace? Thanks guys
Old 05-12-2009, 01:15 PM

It's a pain to get to. The oil pressure sending unit is the vertical sensor behind the intake manifold on the drivers side. You can see the bottom of it in this picture: http://www.ls1howto.com/howto/geniii...//IMAGE010.jpg Make sure you get one for a '98 if replacing it, the '99 and up have a different connector.
Old 05-12-2009, 01:21 PM

Do I have to remove anything to get to it? I bought a special socket for it to make it easier. Have never replaced one yet so I'm new to it. Thanks.
Old 05-12-2009, 01:49 PM

Most people remove the intake (you can use the ls1howto LS6 install link if needed). Try unplugging it and see if you can get the socket over it. Good luck, it's really hard to reach.
Old 05-12-2009, 02:01 PM

If I have to is there any torque specifications on the bolts? I don't have that tool though. The oil pressure gauge reads "0" and it did it out of nowhere. No ticking of any sort though. Drove it weeks back before this incident and around 50-55 MPH wanted to lose power for a second. Fuel pump? Or do you you think it has to due with the oil pressure? Thanks.Just trying to gather all the information before I go out today and put the switch on ya know?
Old 05-12-2009, 02:27 PM

But it IS possible to do it without removing the intake correct?
Old 05-12-2009, 02:28 PM