LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

FIPK vs. Direct flo airlid

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2003, 11:38 PM

FIPK vs. Direct flo airlid

With the FIPK there is no lid. Is there a distinct advantage over the Direct-flo with one?
Old 04-28-2003, 11:51 PM

Direct-Flo is just a lid and is different from the FIPK. The FIPK does not have a lid, but a bunch of other stuff and allows it to make more power than just a new lid. I don't know what the FIPK kit comes with.

The FIPK just makes more power than the Direct-Flo lid. If you are going to do other engine mods, go ahead with the FIPK, but if not just get a lid. Both are good
Old 04-29-2003, 12:15 AM

I have no experience with the Direct-flo lid. However the K&N FIPK gave me an increase of 26 rwhp. Not everyone will see this much increase. But the FIPK will show you more power over a typical lid. Most owners remark on the noticable increase in throttle response. You can see a picture of it here.

http://www.knfilters.com/images/FIPK/57-3022.jpg

Good luck on your decision.
Old 04-29-2003, 12:20 AM

Mister Will: Did your increase in HP come before you did you exhaust and other mods? I would think the exhaust had alot of effect on the HP vs 29hp just for the FIPK? If the FIPK was the only difference I am definitely buying one.
Old 04-29-2003, 11:06 AM

Originally posted by Monodax
Mister Will: Did your increase in HP come before you did you exhaust and other mods? I would think the exhaust had alot of effect on the HP vs 29hp just for the FIPK? If the FIPK was the only difference I am definitely buying one.
Yes The increase in my sig was from the the FIPK only
Old 04-29-2003, 01:12 PM

Originally posted by BT
Just get a lid and cut out the bottom of your airbox. It's pretty much the same thing
BT, do you or anyone else have personal experience with doing that? Results/drawbacks??
Old 04-29-2003, 09:53 PM

Originally posted by gearslammer