LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

2000 Camaro z28 noob questions!

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2013, 12:16 AM

2000 Camaro z28 noob questions!

New to the form so go easy on me.
I own a Subaru Wrx and am about to buy a 2000 z28 as a second car. I found one with 98k miles and it seems nice. It has headers and some head work. Has the 6 speed trans that I wanted BUT I am new to these cars and don't know much about them. My Father has a 95 Firebird Formula but I want a Ls1 for a drag car. I Got him down to 4,000 and hopefully to 3,800. What do I need to look out for in these cars? Here is the link to the add and some pictures.

2000 Camaro Z28/SS LS1 6speed T56 Make Me An Offer 4500 or Best Offer

Wheels will be taken off for drag radials, tint removed and that ugly wing. Please guys, if you could shoot me some pointers! Would love to get in the Camaro game! Thanks!
Old 08-06-2013, 07:34 AM
Super Moderator

Re: 2000 Camaro z28 noob questions!

As far as what to look for, the LS1 doesn't have any major maintenance issues. It's probably worth checking the fronts of the heads for oil leaks, but nothing catastrophic is indicated even if you find something. Just make sure to check your levels regularly.

LS1s have aluminum pistons. All aluminum pistons are sensitive to heat expansion, and so at cold startup they are a little bit small for the bore. The piston can move around inside the bore and make a clanging sound that will fade as the pistons to warm up, generally for no more than a few seconds. This sound is called piston slap and it's normal and harmless. Not all cars do it, though -- my '02 with 107k has never done it.

At 100k miles, there's a lot of wear and tear on the chassis. When you drive it, you'll almost certainly notice a bunch of squeaks and rattles when driving over rough surfaces. The solution is a set of subframe connectors, which can be had for a couple hundred bucks and installed in a level driveway.