Forced Induction Supercharger/Turbocharger

motor

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2003, 10:33 PM

motor

ok i am new to this so i got a few ? i got a 96z28 and i wanna build the motor up. My goal is to put a charger after i build it. Is it better to build up a 383 stoker, or build the motor with the stock bore and eveything. And if there is any site that any of u know about buildiing a stoker it would help alot
thankx
Old 07-12-2003, 10:22 PM

You've asked some very open ended questions, so it's hard to know where to start. In general, it you are building up a motor for boost, you need to replace the rotating assembly (crank, rods, and pistons) with higher quality parts than the stock components. In that case, a stroker is really the only way to go. The cost is the same as sticking with a stock stroke, and unlike an NA setup, there will be a hp increase essentially proportional to the increased displacement. The downside of being less rev tolerant than a short stroke motor is irrelevent to a typical street or street/strip setup because there is simply no need to rev a forced induction motor sky high to make hp.

The bore question is a bit more interesting. Again in general, unlike an NA buildup, it makes the most sense to limit the overbore for a SC setup. A high end NA buildup benefits from an increased bore not so much because of more displacement but because of the ability to use large valves without shrouding. Intake flow is less critical with forced induction. And by limiting bore size, you leave the cylinder walls thicker and less likely to distort under the high cylinder pressures a high-boost setup can generate. Bore distortion costs power, and thin cylinders may split which can destroy the motor and renders the block unusable.