Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

Interesting link for noobs to datamaster

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2008, 05:58 AM

Interesting link for noobs to datamaster

http://www.powertuneplus.com/syclone...sguide_dm.shtm

I got a cable for my car a week ago. Been kind of busy w/ work, so not much time to try scanning s/w.

Did briefly try the copy of Andy Whittaker's s/w, but no definition for my car in that version, and I couldn't quickly find a newer download.

Then looked into EFILiveV4 and got it to connect w/ "test chatter" (or whatever)... green lines returned and it looked like there was a "solid handshake"... but it was not intuitive how to use the "macros" etc...

SO, I'm thinking about downloading DataMaster and trying it... figure that being a noob I'd probably waste at least half of the 20 trials they provide

Anyway, I know the above like is for "trucks", but I figure it is worth a read.

LMK if I've missed something simple w/ the 2 s/w packages I briefly tried and/or if I should just stick w/ datamaster..

thx

John
Old 10-04-2008, 02:56 PM
Administrator

Are you sure you are connecting these OBD-I scan packages correctly to your 16-pin ALDL connector? Do you have a cable specifially for a 95 LT1?
Old 10-04-2008, 09:43 PM

yeah... I'm good to go

I downloaded datamaster for my car today...

took the time to read the well organized manual and went for a spin.

success on the first "run"... (I was sure I was going to **** away at least half of the free trials experimenting).

I only did an "engine" run first time out, but got 5-10 minutes of logging done.

My occasional SES light is apparently coming from an EGR system fault... (not sure exactly what would cause it... probably doesn't matter, because I've already removed the AIR system and when I put LTs on I'll eliminate the EGR too).