Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

96 Z running extreamly rich.

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 05:45 PM

96 Z running extreamly rich.

Hello all,

As the title states I've got a 96 Z that's running super rich, to the point that the exhaust smells only of pure fuel and it visibly blows fuel vapor. I'm an auto tech but I specialize in 4 bangers and this "Real" engine has me stumped.

Before I list the DTC's I'll give a brief history to help better understand.
The Z has sat for the past 5 years in my fathers backyard untouched due to an issue with the optispark (Go figure.) Because he couldn't afford to fix it at the time it was put on the back burner and all but forgotten.

Long story short the Z was given to me for a reasonable four quarters to which I towed it to my shop and went to work. After removing the water pump to replace the optispark and discovering a broken wire in the optispark pigtail and repairing, I regained spark.

Gave the Z a good once around, new fuel system (pump, filter, injectors, regulator), plugs and wires and while at it deleted the air pump and plugged the bungs.

As it stands I've got four DTCs stored in the ECU and what feels like a dead skip in addition to the nauseating fuel vapors. P0100, P0300, P0412 and P115.

Any insight?
Old 04-23-2012, 11:12 PM
Administrator

Re: 96 Z running extreamly rich.