Car Audio and Electronics Custom car audio/electronics questions and discussion

Stock Deck with Subs? Possible?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2003, 01:50 PM

Stock Deck with Subs? Possible?

I'm a newbie with the audio stuff........thanx for you patience.

Is it possible to run a stealth box (or 2) off of my stock deck? Are those subs powered or unpowered?
In an ideal situation I would like to have 2 subs in the hatch - both steath boxes - one on the driver's side and one on the pass. side.
Is that possible?
Also, if the subs were to need an amp - how big would it have to be, and could it be run off the stock deck? Where could I put it so it's out of site - out of mind?

Your help and advice is much appriciated.
Old 01-28-2003, 02:13 PM

Read this.
And I think they do make a powered stealthbox. I think I seen it in Crutchfield..... or maybe that wasn't for an F-body...... Either way... they are usually low quality. I suggest you check out subthump He makes both driver and passenger side stealth boxes. The size of the amp depend on the woofers you put in the boxes..... let me know what you decide and I would be happy to help!
Old 01-29-2003, 01:57 PM

With a stock system, you need a line output converter to get RCA preouts from the stock speaker wires. You can run the power wire from battery all the way back through the hole where the pcm wires are. The ground you can use anything metal back there, just scrape some paint off before you ground it. The remote turn on you can access from the inside the car fuse box.

I do have a line out converter for sale if you want it, it was like 20 or something like that, I'll sell it for 12 shipped.
Old 01-29-2003, 03:39 PM