Car Audio and Electronics Custom car audio/electronics questions and discussion

ppl that know ohms please inside,and also can i hook my wiring up to this??

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2003, 12:15 AM

ppl that know ohms please inside,and also can i hook my wiring up to this??

hi,
just wondering a few things,
i think i changed my mind,and am going to go with 1 10,0r 12, in the stealth inclosure,but the thing is,i have a 600 ti phoenix gold amp,that is rated at 600x1 @ 4ohms,now im sure it will go lower ohms,but i dont know the ratings on it,could you guys reccomend me a sub that will handel say 1000 watts rms?and sound good,and i have been looking at the rockford fosgate power hx2's,they say they will handle this much power,but they are dual 2 ohms,i think,im not good at this ohm stuff,how would i wire my amp to "1" sub for the most power from both?and should i get a dual voice coil sub,or just get a single voice coil?can someone break these ohms down for me,say like if i have a dual 4 ohms voice coil type r?? and my 600 ti amp,how would you guys wire that for the most power?these things confuse me,
and also,i seen that my car has a spot close to the battery where,the positive distributes itself,can i hook my amp wiring up there also,i will have a lighting cap,"rockford foasgate 1 farad" hooked up before my amp,so power draw shouldnt be anything to worry about right?thanks alot.
phil
Old 04-21-2003, 01:07 AM

the amp is fine. It's 2 ohm stable. Now I'm not sure what the rating would be at 2 ohms but usually power doubles when you drop the impedence...usually. What kind of stealth enclosure are you using? The only one I know is the stealth for the pass side that can fit a 12. With the power handling you are looking for in a sub, you might need a bigger enclosure than that because I don't think you even have .75 cubes out of that stealth box.
Old 04-21-2003, 12:16 PM