Car Audio and Electronics Custom car audio/electronics questions and discussion

I need a new stereo. Any suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2012, 12:29 PM

I need a new stereo. Any suggestions?

Ok! This is my first time posting here, so please, be kind
I just got my first car last night (early birthday present) and its a 1995 Camaro. Now, me being the luxery car lover that I am, this car is going to get tons of upgrades. (First I gotta get a job though :x) But the first upgrade i need to make, it a stereo upgrade. (Unless someone can tell me how to convert all my cds to cassettes)
Right now its got a cute little cassette player, but I want a boss cd player. (well as boss as a cd player can get for the budget of a 15 y/o girl.) Anyways, Im wondering if anyone has any suggestions for cheap but durable stereos. Im not interested in any of that goofy sirius XM radio or ipod hook up stuff, I just need something sweet and simple.
Thanks much!
-S
Old 01-25-2012, 11:09 AM

Re: I need a new stereo. Any suggestions?

I've been super satisfied with JVC's. Of the last 4 radios I bought 3 were JVC's and 1 was Pioneer.

Go to Crutchfield and look at their head units. If you buy a 129.99 head unit you get the dash kit and the wiring harness free which is the same price or cheaper than buying a 99 dollar radio and buying the dash kit and harness separately and you get a better radio.

The reason I bought a Pioneer the last time is that the JVC's stying was to flashy or something but they have all the bells and whistles you're looking for.