Car Audio and Electronics Custom car audio/electronics questions and discussion

Car Audio Novice Needs Major Help Purchasing An Audio System For A New Car

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2005, 03:34 PM

Car Audio Novice Needs Major Help Purchasing An Audio System For A New Car

Hello,

When it comes to car audio I am a complete novice. I've never looked at the stuff and have no clue what make one product better than the other.

I recently purchased a new 2005 For Escape XLS. What I am wanting to do is make some general improvements to the cars audio. I am probably going to keep the factory CD Player Stereo in the car since I run much of my music from my IPOD player via ITunes. So I'm basically looking at improvements on speakers and stuff. I really know nothing about what I would need to purchase as far as Kickers, Sub woofers, Amplifiers if any of them are worth getting in the first place.

I don't need to blow the windows off the car next to me, win any contests, or buy the most expensive stuff availible. All I am looking for is what type of system should I put together to make the cars audio be better than factory. Keep in mind I have no clue what anything really is so the more detail on what it is, what it does, speaker/Subs/Kickers/whatever sizes to look at, the best companies to look at for the price their producrs are would be more than helpful. This doesn't have to be the greatest car audio system in the world I just want to kick it up a little bit. Thanks for any help.

Matt
Old 08-01-2005, 04:02 PM

Re: Car Audio Novice Needs Major Help Purchasing An Audio System For A New Car

What is your budget, and do you want to replace door speakers as well as add a subwoofer or what?
Old 08-01-2005, 04:07 PM

I really don't know what my budget is since I'm not to up on the cost of decent equiptment. I would like to keep it somewhat inexpensive. I wasn't planning on dropping a few thousand or anything.