Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

polished and buffed my intake

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2006, 03:03 PM

polished and buffed my intake

i've never done this before, and it came out OK..... i could have done better if i had had more time and better tools. but it still looks ok. matches my valve covers at least i should have went over it again by hand after the grinding rolls...

before..

after... but before clearcoating it (looks a lot better with the clear on it)

most of the "bumpier" areas will be covered but the vette covers, so i'm not too concerned. the motor will be coming out someday for the bling treatment, so i'll fix it then

what do ya think?
Old 04-03-2006, 03:50 PM

Re: polished and buffed my intake

Dude, what kind of tools did you use? I plan on doing this to my intake as well but am fairly uneducated on polishing aluminum.

Looks awesome though.
Old 04-03-2006, 06:35 PM

Originally Posted by scrmnws6
Dude, what kind of tools did you use? I plan on doing this to my intake as well but am fairly uneducated on polishing aluminum.

Looks awesome though.
thanks, but when you do it set aside a few days to do it, it takes a while to get right. i used a 90* die grinder, sctoch-loc pads, sanding pads, a straight die grinder with various abrasive rolls and cones, treated and untreated spiral sewn buff pads, tripoli and coloring compounds from www.eastwood.com

BTW, they have a manifold kit that has everything needed on sale for like 45.00 . it has more than enough rolls in there. mine came with the wrong grits tho.... still, well worth the money
Old 04-03-2006, 06:36 PM