Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

Paint Job Project

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2012, 12:52 PM

Question Paint Job Project

This past winter I bought a 1994 Z28 automatic with 84,000 miles on it. Only thing wrong with it was the paint. I am planning on painting it sometime this summer and hopefully doing most of the prep work myself.

I'm new to body work and relatively new to cars so I've got a lot of questions. I'm planning on re-painting it red so I'm not changing the color on it.

What type/how much prep work is involved?
-materials?
-amount of time i can expect to spend on it?

What are some good brands of paint and possibly websites I can look at different shades of red?
-how much will paint cost me? primer?
-also going to need some black paint for the headlights and the middle of the car

What body parts should be removed to paint?

how much time can i expect the entire project to take?

If theres a thread or possibly websites that might help please let me know. I appreciate any help/feedback in advance!
Old 05-30-2012, 12:25 PM

Re: Paint Job Project

Steps on How to Paint a Car
Old 05-30-2012, 01:32 PM

That guide only says to sand down the rough or dented areas. I thought to do a paint job you have to sand the entire car?
Old 05-31-2012, 09:14 PM

you do, I would recomend taking to the car and having it sprayed at the very least. 60% of the cost of a paint job is prep.... and prep lol

Block sanding every panel, filling, taking off all trim and windows, taping and covering off anything you dont want paint on. Wiping the entire body with a prepsol mulitiple times. Than once its painted and cleared it needs to be wet sanded and wheeled out. This isnt everything.