3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

HIGH Idle

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2005, 07:30 PM

HIGH Idle

Just to let you guys know I am a mechanic. I'm not very familiar with the non obd II cars. I just bought this 88 IROC (5.0l tpi ) as a toy. too good a deal to pass on. anyway, The idle on this car is very high in my opinion somewhere in the range of 1200 to 1500 rpm on the tach in park. around 1000 rpm in drive. I thought through the searching on this site, it may be 1 of a couple of things. tps, iac, or a vaccum leak. there appears to be no vac leaks although i didn't dig in too far just sprayed carb clean around the intake and lines for rpm change. i've seen many posts on the tps and testing but i,m not sure thats my problem because unless it is bad i don't see how this can just fall out of adjustment. could be wrong though. I cleaned the t/body and iac pintle and no change. Just a little info on this car. very clean throughout, put a battery and some gas in and she fired right up and ran pretty good even the idle was not bad, but then I found this thing had a big hole in the radiator. so needless to say i didn't run it for long. after the rad install i started to see how she would run at normal operating temp. runs very well for a car that sat for a year or more. but now the high idle and I did notice it starts right up and sometimes stalls but once running just the high idle. any ideas guys??
Old 06-19-2005, 08:10 PM

Re: HIGH Idle