Drivetrain Clutch, Torque Converter, Transmission, Driveline, Axles, Rear Ends

Auto trans filter change

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2006, 01:40 AM

Auto trans filter change

Hello,

I know this topic is constantly slogged, but I think I have a couple of pointed questions. This is on a '94 Base-model Camaro with 150K miles (obviously with an automatic trans).

I'm a Ford guy and we can get real nice rubber-over-metal gaskets with ferrules in the bolt bosses - they make for a wonderful seal and install (no overtorquing, etc). Is there a similar animal (be it Dealer only, Felpro, et al) for the Camaro?

The rubber/steel grommet seems to be an area of PITA-ness. Is it requisite to replace this, or if it looks good, do you leave it be?

Lastly, is Dexron III (I think that's right) the still-current fluid? Again my background is Fords, and they liked to sneak-in retroactive TSB's recommending a newer fluid (i.e., MV instead of Mercon).

Thanks so much for any thoughts and advice!
Old 11-18-2006, 11:40 AM

So you just want to know if they make that gasket, that is it? I don't know if those are really needed. I got a completely rubber gasket with my filter, and it has been holding up just fine.

Yes Dexron III is still used, it also tells you in the manual if you still have it.
Old 11-18-2006, 01:28 PM

Originally Posted by MyShibbyZ28
So you just want to know if they make that gasket, that is it? I don't know if those are really needed. I got a completely rubber gasket with my filter, and it has been holding up just fine.

Yes Dexron III is still used, it also tells you in the manual if you still have it.
Yes, I want to know if there is an upgraded trans pan gasket (preferably rubber-over-metal-rails, with ferrules in the bolt bosses). If you've seen this style of gasket, you know they're nice and nothing like the crap that comes with a trans filter.

Did you replace the grommet inside the trans? Was it necessary to do so?