Drivetrain Clutch, Torque Converter, Transmission, Driveline, Axles, Rear Ends

Clutch/Pressure plate/T.O. bearing suggestions please!

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2006, 09:52 AM

Clutch/Pressure plate/T.O. bearing suggestions please!

Hello all. This is my very first post on this site, but I have found a lot of useful info just by checking out others posts. I'm new to the LT1 Camaro limelight, but had a '69 Camaro for 14 years. Just sold it recently and also recently purchased a '95 Z28 convertible with a 6 speed.
The input I'm hoping for here is regarding the best all around street use clutch disk, pressure plate, throwout bearing and flywheel. Although the car only has 71,000 miles, I may put new pieces in this winter, just as a "bulletproofing" measure if nothing else. So what manufacturers out there make the best pieces? Thanks in advance for the help!
Old 07-22-2006, 11:29 AM

Re: Clutch/Pressure plate/T.O. bearing suggestions please!

LT4 pressure plate/TO bearing are pretty damn good for street, its the same thing that every aftermarket clutch kit comes with. Mccleod single disk is also suppose to be a very good street/strip clutch. After break in it drives like stock, and can hold upto 400rwhp. For flywheel im not sure, im just going to resurface mine for $60.

These are all the parts I bought for my clutch job

LT4 PP w/ TO bearing: $267 (from dal)
Mccleod single disk: $180 (from summit)
LT1 Pilot bearing $9.99 (from dal)

Dal works at a dealership and gets parts for cheap, email him here:
lockitup@ohio.net
Old 07-23-2006, 12:53 AM

If you're looking for bullet-proof... the McLeod Street Twin is very street/DD friendly and can handle all the horsepower you can throw at it. It's costly, though, usually a tad over $1000 for the kit that includes flywheel, discs, PP, master cyl., TO bearing, pilot bushing. It depends on how bulletproof you mean by "bulletproof".
Old 07-23-2006, 06:35 AM