West North Central Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota

Dude's Performance in Streamwood, IL

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2004, 04:34 PM

Dude's Performance in Streamwood, IL

Here’s what happened: I decided to put long pipe headers on my car. After about 20 hours of working on them with a friend we couldn’t get the final few bolts in the passenger side header. I finally got really frustrated because I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t lining up properly. An acquaintance worked at Dude’s, and said his shop could take care of this for a minimal amount of money. (I’m a full time student with a part time job.

I had the car towed to Dude’s. They called later and said they needed to redo the starter wires because they were hitting the header. It would be about an hour’s labor charge. I said fine. (Their labor rate is $78 per hour.) They called back the next day and said they needed to install new shorty spark plugs because the ones that I had installed were too close to the header.
That day, they called back again and said they now needed to put new spark plug wires in, because it needed angled boots. They said it would be about 2 hours worth of labor for the wires. I said “no” because I can do them myself. I finally asked what my total was at and they had to call me back. They called back and said it was at $597.00!!! I found out that my car was able to start and drive home, so that’s what I did. When I get home, I open the hood and see this wiring job!

My intent for the car is to make it a show car. This wiring job will not do. I could not believe it was hacked like this. I call and tell Dude’s I’m not happy with the work. I ran into a problem getting there so my mom calls and talks to Scott the manager, and he says they “will do whatever it takes to fix it”. And they will make it their “top priority” when I bring it in.