N2O Tech Discussion for the use of Nitrous Oxide

window switch vs. "nitrous button"

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2006, 12:29 PM

window switch vs. "nitrous button"

I've never had nitrous so I'm no expert by any means. My buddy has a 01 F-150 with full bolt ons. He wants to throw a 100 shot to it, but doenst want to use a window switch. He said he just wants to be able to push a button that shoots the nitrous so he can have full control when it is being shot. That does make sense, however since I am fairly ignorant on the subject, I need all of you to explain why a window swicth would be a better methos. If using the button would be better, explain that too.
Old 05-12-2006, 01:55 PM

Re: window switch vs. "nitrous button"

I would use both, it is not uncommon to have quite a few "switches" inline. For instance, I run a fuel pressure switch, wide open throttle switch, arm switch and a button on my shifter. You could add a window switch to all of those too, it's just all about safety.

If it were me, I would run both.
Old 05-12-2006, 02:37 PM

The window shift is protection against poor judgement and a slipping automatic tranny or a missed shift. The window shift is set so that the nitrous cannot activate until a minimum rpm and will automatically shut off at a max rpm.
Old 05-13-2006, 12:05 PM

My opinion is that a window switch is needed more with a manual tranny than an auto. But as OBE1 95Z28 said, if the auto starts slipping, or you smoke a converter the window switch will come in handy. I never ran one on my AOD Mustang or when I first started running nitrous on my Firebird. You bounce off the limiter once on the spray and a big mushroom cloud comes out from under your hood, it will change your thoughts of needing one real quick. When this happened to me, the nitrous backfired in the air intake and burnt up my air filter. There was nothing but mesh left. I guess it could have been a lot worse though.
Old 05-19-2006, 03:03 AM