LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Post in here if you HAVEN'T spun a bearing(s) after cam and/or heads+cam

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2006, 12:54 PM

Post in here if you HAVEN'T spun a bearing(s) after cam and/or heads+cam

Title says it all....the purpose of this thread is to help me sleep at night and restore confidence/motivation in installing my cam.

Also, mileage, what oil you run, etc would be helpful.
Old 02-07-2006, 12:57 PM

Re: Post in here if you HAVEN'T spun a bearing(s) after cam and/or heads+cam

My current ride is basically stock since it's my only mode of transportation right now.
But in the past I've done cam swaps/head swaps and never had any problems.
I always use Castrol Syntec and they were almost always on decently high mileage cars
Old 02-07-2006, 12:58 PM

Mine never spun a bearing. It was a 94 Z-28 M6. I had the XE 224/230 installed at 90K miles. I used plain old conventional 10w-40 oil.
Old 02-07-2006, 01:00 PM

I'm no mechanic, I did just fine with my install fired right up runs great, 1 year only 5000 miles into new CC305 cam.
I'm gettig about 16- 18 mpg I guess try not to look at that.
I run Castrol Syntec 0W-30 European Formula ( must say made in Germany )
Old 02-07-2006, 01:03 PM

This is a great post, I am still a bit gun shy.
Old 02-07-2006, 01:04 PM

Thanks...500 miles after the cam install, I think I'm going to switch to that german Castrol. Right now I'm running 10w40 GTX.
Old 02-07-2006, 01:08 PM

I have done cam swaps in the past with no poblems. The one that really comes to mind is my 1981 Cutlass, 305 with 2-3 oil psi at idle when hot. I was a poor college student and had a cam and lifters swapped them in and the car ran for another 30K before the body was too rotted.

I did my current Z28 (heads & lifters only) when I blew a head gasket about 50K ago still runs very strong.