LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

New to the game

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2006, 12:13 AM

New to the game

Just wanting to know if anyone could help me out. I'm new to the whole camaro world. See I've hand nine mustangs then I got smart. A little help with some mods would be great. It's a 97 ss 6 speed. I appreciate any help given.
Old 04-06-2006, 01:10 AM

Re: New to the game

Search CAGS and get rid of that first of all.

What are your plans for the car? What will you be doing with it? Trailer queen, drag car, show queen, yada yada?
Old 04-06-2006, 07:53 AM

I just want a good strong bottom end maybe a 383. Possibly a procharger. I also want something with good streetability.
Old 04-06-2006, 08:34 AM
Super Moderator

Okay, so lots of power. Nothing wrong with that.

Is the car 100% stock right now?

To give you the best advice, we still need to know what you're going to do with the car. Not how you're going to mod it -- how you're going to drive it.

-You want good streetability -- so is it your daily driver?

-Does it snow where you live? If so, will you drive it in the winter?

-Will you drag race it? Do you have an ET goal? Will you be competing? Would you be competing in bracket racing or heads-up racing?

-Will you autocross/roadrace it? What class? Do you care if you win, or just for fun?

-Will you compete in car shows? What category(ies)? Will you actually be trying to win, or just for fun?

-Do you street race? ( :slap on wrist: ) Any interest in "hidden" mods?

-Are there any mods you don't want/don't care for? (for example, I will never install nitrous on my car).

Answer all of those, and we'll really be able to help you.
Old 04-06-2006, 09:24 AM

Start with basics,

Cold Air Induction, full exhaust - headers to catback.

Then research a nice Heads/Cam package and some valvetrain build up that compliments each other well and meets your personal objectives (torque vs top end, streetability vs strip)