LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

just making sure im understanding adjusting RRs

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2005, 08:19 PM

just making sure im understanding adjusting RRs

Looking at shoebox's tech site this is my understanding of how to adjust my nsa rr's and comp r lifters. it's my first time doing it and want to make sure i fully understand it before doing it, so please correct me if I'm wrong

-place guide plates then the studs on top of those and torque to specs.
-place rocker on stud and (hand?) tighten the nut while turning the pushrod until i reach that exact point where the pushrod won't turn or just won't move up and down but still turn with effort??
-tighten an additional 1/4 turn max. for comp R's
-drop the allen set screw and tighten

seems to easy, and if it is, then good. I know I have to turn the crank and do it in a sequence, and that's not a problem because the motor is on a stand right now, so that will be easy.
Old 11-09-2005, 08:24 PM

Re: just making sure im understanding adjusting RRs

If you are using poly-locks you can hand tighten until you just feel any drag on the pushrod. Revisit my page for the recommended preload for Comp R's. It will run with 1/4, but it they recommend less.
Old 11-09-2005, 08:49 PM

i'm just picturing it in my head... so when I set the rockers with #1TDC, the valves are still closed, but when I turn the crank to #6 TDC, the ones I had already adjusted will then begin to open and close? sorry for the amature questions...just trying to learn
Old 11-09-2005, 09:03 PM

I realize you are new at this, but I set mine with the motor running. It is the only good way to make them all perfect. I back off one at a time, until it clicks, then tighten it by hand until you feel resistance. From that point, I go another 1/2 turn, and set the screw. I do one side at a time. I don't know if you are at a point if you can start it or not, but that is how I do it to get them all perfect!
Hope that helps.
~Cody