LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

How much to install catback?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2004, 04:48 PM

How much to install catback?

Again, newbie here. There's no way I can install my new catback by myself. How much will a muffler shop charge, anybody have experience with this? Also, looking to replace spark plugs. Which plugs should I go for and/or where can I get them online? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 10-07-2004, 04:58 PM

Re: How much to install catback?

I was charged $50 for them to put my y-pipe and cat-back on (welded).
Old 10-07-2004, 05:01 PM

ngk tr-55, any auto parts store should have them.
Old 10-07-2004, 05:01 PM

First off, welcome aboard. Second, why cant you install your cat back your self? All you need is two jack stands, a jack, and simple tools. It was a big waste of 40 bucks for me.. That was what they charged for the install, but i helped so it might be a little more. My dad slapped a GMMG cat back on his 02 ws6 last weekend. Took about three hours, and he was taking his sweet time. On the plugs...if your not wanting to install a cat back you probably wont want to change plugs either unless youve got headers. They are hard to see, and a PITA to change. I think i ordered mine off line from www.thunderracing.com but im sure there is a supporting vendor that sells them.
Old 10-07-2004, 05:05 PM

Where do you live? There may be someone on here that could help you install it for no charge. If you lived by me I would offeryou my garage and help you out with it. Also, www.thunderracing.com does sell the plugs and they are a supporting vendor.
Old 10-07-2004, 06:34 PM